Geography and History
Mining in this region of Mpumalanga dates back many centuries. Proof of these diggings can still be found in this area.
The history of this small and quaint village dates back to 1873 when a miner, Alex Patterson, discovered alluvial gold on the farm named Ponieskrantz.
On 22nd September 1873 Pilgrim's Rest was officially proclaimed a gold field and many hopeful gold panners and prospectors descended. Soon the scatter of tents flourished into sturdy brick houses and a church, shops, canteens and the well-known Royal Hotel was built.
The diggers called it Pilgrim's Rest because here they had truly found their home.
Over time the alluvial deposits were depleted and then the locals turned to forestry. Their village has been painstakingly preserved as a "living museum" and major South African tourist venue.
Information courtesy of www.pilgrimsrest.org.za.
Pilgrims Rest has a variety of accommodation options available from Guest Houses, Bed and Breakfasts to Self-catering units.
There is a diverse range of activities to do in and around Pilgrims Rest. Although, the best experience is to slowly meander around the town, on foot, and have a look at all the interesting houses and museums. Visitors can also "dress-up" in bygone era clothes and have photos taken - a fun thing to do for the whole family!
There are many restaurants on offer in Pilgrims Rest to suit every visitors budget. There is a great selection of restaurants, coffee shops and pubs to choose from!
|Pilgrims Rest Tourism Office Information|
|Telephone:||013 759 5300/01|
|Fax:||013 755 3928|